Order of things, kingdom and time management

Just got my Kingdom and have taken a few baby steps in Kingdom management. But I am confused when to do what. When to manage and when to quest for instance. As far as I understand things:

• at the beginning of the month you visit your capitol and take care of things; assign duties, rank up if possible, etc (small things can also be managed on the road)
  • if you assign a companion on a task, can he/she still accompany you on quests during that time?
  • perhaps build some buildings
  • when all management is done, go to the world map and start questing; main quests first or (like I tend to do) side quest first?

Any insight is appreciated!

SPOILER: there is an excellent guide for kingdom management to be found on Steam

1 Like

Thank you, i’m studying it now!

EDIT
So, Am I correct that on the beginning of the month you take care of your kingdom and when done with that you spent the remainder of the month questing?

Also, should I do main quests asap ?

You can take your time, depending how good are your % chances to solve Main Quest Problem cards in Kingdom Managment events like Troll Sighting and Troll Raids, and if it is around 85% (or if you try save scumming) you can take your time a little.
I would recomend doing most of main quest (so you can beeline to final dungeon in case of emergency). Then finishing it when you start getting Troll Raids(= basically worse Troll Sighting).

If you are good at Kingdom Managment, you can try to prolong solving main quest, but if you take way, way too long then you can get even 8 Raids in one week which is impossible to solve, since you also get normal problem cards so you can get like 10 cards that needs to be solved in 2 week, and that will create more Unrest.

IMPORTANT TIP: Look in the Journal at Curse of Bald Hillop, it has counter that basically corresponds to start of the next chapter.