Hellknight needs some love

If you compare what you’re getting on Regill with his Fighter levels vs his Hellknight levels it’s hard to justify the latter. That shouldn’t be the case with a Prestige Class, especially one so central to his character. The class itself needs to either continue the Weapon Training (with the Advanced Feats which are the strength of the class) or retain at least some of the bonus Combat Feats. Same with Student of War (and/or kick up the Know They Enemy bonus to +2 each).

The main problem is that Hellknights lawful weapons only ignore DR/Lawful but not DR/Good which ALL demons have and they dont receive Penetrating Strike either which causes them to be ineffective vs demons.

A Hell Knights lawful weapon is essentially useless. Which enemy types have DR/Lawful ?

In my opinion, demons should have DR/Lawful+Good which would solve most of that issue. Paladins should receive DR/Chaotic+Evil for that matter too.

Well, I’m no expert on them, but Hellknights always seemed too specific a class to be good outside of their specific comfort zone. WotR seemed the perfect setting for them to shine, but the class itself still seems quite weak to me, wether PnP or in-game. As Schutzengel said, one of their strong points (Lawbringer at 7th level) does not work on demons after all.
I never understood the hype about them (when it was the most asked-for class to be added in KM). And I agree that they hardly seem much stronger than Armigers.
They are more of a fluff class than anything, in my admittedly biased opinion. A class made for NPCs.

1 Like
Here is the FULL list of DR/Lawful enemies:
  • Aberration, Bedlam (CR 9)
  • Aberration, Dwiergeth (CR 13)
  • Aberration, Scylla (CR 16)
  • Demon, Katpaskir (CR 18)
  • Demon Lord, Nocticula (CR 30)
  • Dragon, Gorynych (CR 15)
  • Dragon, Woundwyrm (CR 15)
  • Great Old One, Bokrug (CR 27)
  • Great Old One, Hastur (CR 29)
  • Great Old One, Cthulhu (CR 30)
  • Humanoid, Abyss Gigas (CR 16)